Swimming Metro South West operates as an Area Swimming Association established by Swimming New South Wales. The Area is managed by a Management Committee, elected each year at the Annual General Meeting by delegates from members clubs.

Our History

Swimming Metro South West was formed on the 8th May, 2008 as a merger of the southern section of the Cumberland Swimming Association and the western section of the Western Suburbs Swimming Association. The northern section of Cumberland formed part of Swimming Metro North West, while the eastern section of Western Suburbs formed part of Metro South East.

Our Logo

A competition was held to select a logo and colours for the new area. Members of the area were invited to submit designs for the new logo and colours. The winning design was selected by a vote of club delegates.

Our Foundation Clubs

The following clubs were founding members of the Metro South West Area:

  • Atlantis (Cumberland)
  • Blacktown City (Cumberland)
  • Bankstown Sports (Western Suburbs)
  • Camden (Cumberland)
  • Campbelltown (Cumberland)
  • Holsworthy (Cumberland)
  • Inswim (Cumberland)
  • Liverpool (Cumberland)
  • Macarthur Indoor (Cumberland)
  • Macquarie Fields (Cumberland)
  • McCredie Park (Cumberland)
  • Merrylands (Cumberland)
  • Mount Annan (Cumberland)
  • Mounties (Cumberland)
  • Myswim (Cumberland)
  • Narellan All Stars (Cumberland)
  • Nepean (Cumberland)
  • Penrith (Cumberland)
  • Penrith RSL (Cumberland)
  • Prairiewood (Cumberland)
  • Revesby Workers (Western Suburbs)
  • Ripples St Marys (Cumberland)
  • Swimfit Macarthur (Cumberland)
  • Toongabbie (Cumberland)
  • Wenden (Cumberland)
  • Wentworthville RSL (Cumberland)

Management Committee

Position Member Club
President Bruce Innes Trinity Grammar
Vice President Shawn Simpson Revesby Workers
Secretary Judith Ferderer Campbelltown
Treasurer Emily Lim Merrylands
Registrar Kathy Thompson Mount Annan
ATSC Convenor Dave Cooper Nepean Aquatic Centre
Development Convenor Gail Cauchi Revesby Workers
Committee Member Dennis Browning McCredie Park
Committee Member Brad Fahey Aquablitz Toongabbie
Committee Member Glenn Burt Liverpool
Committee Member Dennise Evans Campbelltown

Competition Committee

Position Member Club
Competition Convenor Kathy Thompson Nepean Aquatic Centre
Member Shawn Simpson Revesby Workers
Member Judith Ferderer Campbelltown
Member Gail Cauchi Revesby Workers
Coach Brendan Kirkpatrick Revesby Workers

Selection & Development Committee

Position Member Club
Development Convenor Gail Cauchi Revesby Workers
Member Shawn Simpson Revesby Workers
Member Judith Ferderer Campbelltown

Finance Committee

Member Club
Dennis Browning McCredie Park
Dennise Evans Campbelltown

Area Technical Swimming Committee

Member Club
Dave Cooper Nepean Aquatic Centre
Neil Rogers Bankstown Sports
Faye Lewis Blacktown City
Brad Fahey Aquablitz Toongabbie
Glyn Stockley Ripples St Marys
Shawn Simpson Revesby Workers